Q & A Time with Dice from Lala’s Full Court Life

Share Button

Happy Halloween weekend everyone! I have something special for you all and I KNOW you’re going to love it. I did an exclusive interview with Dice from Vh1’s hit show Lala’s Full Court Life and we chatted about her decision to come out, her career and her time spent on the show. Enjoy the interview and don’t forget to tune in to the season finale of Lala’s Court Life to see more of Dice and her FAB friends and family.


Tell us a little about yourself. What was life like as a teen and how old were you when you came out?

I was born and raised in Stone Mountain, GA. I’m an only child. Life as a teen was very normal. In high school I played sports and was involved in a lot of extracurricular activities at my school. I had a small circle of friends I would hang out with and have fun. When my cousin La La came to my high school in the 11th grade, I would hang out with her and her friends who where a year ahead of me. I got my first job in high school working at Baskin Robbins ice cream shop. (laughing) I ate so much ice cream during that time. La La and I worked together so you could imagine the times we had at work.

Thats funny. My first job was Sea World. I sold peanuts. You’ve been spotted on VH1’s hit show Lala’a Full Court Life. I imagine things have picked up for you since then. What was life like before the show and how has being a part of the show changed your life?

Before being apart of my cousin La La’s show, I would travel with her a lot any way. I started graduate school in January 2010, so I was a college student before all of this happened. (laughing) I still am a college student. The difference now after the show is people recognize me. They want to take pictures with me and sometimes ask for my autograph. I don’t consider myself a celebrity, but I really appreciate all the love I receive from everyone. I’m also starting to host parties in different cities so that is a huge change for me, but I love it so far.

Very cool. Tell us about your time spent on Lala’s show. What made you decide to be open about your sexuality on national television? Why is it important to share your story with viewers?

Filming my cousin La La show was definitely a great experience. I met so many great people and was able to travel and see new places. Being open about my sexuality was not a hard decision because its apart of who I am. Its not all that I am, but it is apart of who I am. If I can help one or two people with dealing with their sexuality and make it easier on them, then my job is done. You hear so much about bullying and young kids committing suicide. I have been blessed to have a supportive family, but not everyone has that. I just want people to know that it is ok to be your self. You have to live your life for you. It’s not a mistake to be who you really are.

I love it. I agree 100 percent.  Does it ever feel strange or become annoying to have a camera crew following you around all day?

At first I did have to get adjusted to the cameras around all the time, filming your every move. Many people don’t realize how many hours of filming goes into creating a show. We might film all day for hours on end, and the editing process cut the footage down and only shows 10 minutes of that on t.v. (laughing) After awhile though, I forgot the cameras where even around. You get used to it. Really you have no choice but to get used to it.

Tell us about some of the things your currently working on aside from the show.

 I’m currently a graduate student attending NC A&T State University. I’m getting my master’s degree in Occupational Safety and Health (OSHA). I graduate on December 10, 2011 and I cannot wait. (laughing) Of course the plan after graduation is to have a job somewhere pertaining to my field of study, but you never know what path I might take since I have other opportunities that could present themselves. If my life goes in a different direction, at least I will have that piece of paper to fall back on if need be. I started school, and I wanted to finish. We were filming during one of my semesters, so it was a lot of flying back and forth for me. It was a little stressful, but I made it through. I currently have a 4.0 GPA so I really cannot complain too much.

Alright for that GPA. Thats amazing. Where do you see yourself career wise in 5 years?

I’m really not sure. (laughing) I cannot plan that far ahead, but I would love to help young kids who are dealing with sexuality issues. I would like to have my own show or even another show with my cousin and Po. I have started to host parties, so I would like to continue doing that as well. In 5 years I would like to be successful and doing something positive.

This is totally random but if you could have one super power what would it be and why?

(Laughing) I really don’t know a whole lot about super heroes, but just thinking quick I would say Sue Storm from Fantastic Four. She could make herself invisible and disappear. That would be a good feature if you were someplace and wanted to get out of there without anyone noticing.

I can think of a multitude of times that super power would have come in handy. Last question. What do you do to stay positive, motivated and on track? Are there any words you like to live by?

 I have a great family and they support me in whatever I choose to do. I’m a motivated person by nature. If I start something, I have to finish it. I stay on track, because I know no one else is going to do it for me but me. I don’t want to disappoint my family, especially my mother so I try to do the right things and make good choices. My mother always instilled in me “Treat people the way you want to be treated”. Those are the words I live by.

If people want to contact me I am on twitter and Facebook. My twitter name is @Dice30 and my Facebook name is Dice Dixon. For booking inquiries people can email me at [email protected].